The Harry Twilight Games


As the new author of a book series designed for the highest commercial appeal possible, I am intrigued by the super blockbuster successes of the Harry Potter, Twilight, and Hunger Games series, and even the lesser but still impressive Dark Tower and Lord of the Rings books.

The Object is my first effort to write a series that will appeal to a massive audience, launching me into fame and fortune and ensuring a future for myself in which publishers go to war over my next novel, generating seven-figure advances and royalties from box office sales and merchandise.

The Hunger Games fans

Harry Potter fans

Twilight fans

So, fans and lovers of Harry, Bella, and Katniss, I want to hear from you.  To begin, please vote in the following poll to determine which series is most loved by my readers.

When you’re done with that, please post a comment below explaining what you love about your favorite series, why the others don’t hold up, which among them you may dislike and why, and anything else you’d like to share.

(If you selected “Other” please tell us about your favorite series below.)

28 thoughts on “The Harry Twilight Games

  1. I am addicted to the Hunger Games. I love the way she really lets you know and love the characters. She doesn’t sugar coat anything, there is pure emotion and she captures that. Stephen King is a genius and his writing is beyond words. Each series has something about it to appreciate. My least favorite is Twilight. I read and pretty much enjoyed them, but she tries too hard and has some parts that almost made me want to put the book down. Stephanie Meyer is a one hit wonder, her book the Host was brutal! I couldn’t finish it. Winston has sucked me in with A Circle in the Woods. Go get it now so one day he will be in someone’s internet poll and win. 🙂

  2. Dark Tower for me. The scope and scale of the series was huge and the way which he weaved in so many different elements from previous non DT novels was also cleverly done. Looking forward to the new one.

  3. This was a hard vote for me as I love Harry Potter, Twilight, and The Hunger Games. (I voted Harry Potter) I have not finished The Dark Tower Series, and I have not read Lord of the Rings yet. Yes I know! Tisk Tisk! So i could not count these two in my decision making.
    I have a feeling that when I finish The Dark Tower series, it will have been my favorite. I love most everything Stephen King has written. My favorite book being Desperation.
    I was able to pick Harry Potter because, like many others, i grew up with the series. I did not actually pick up the books until a few years ago, but saw each movie as they came out. It is so incredibly easy to lose yourself in each story. Which is something that also made it hard for me to decide between these series. Each one creates its own unique world; and in such detail it is amazing to behold. Each creates a story unlike the other. Twilight a gripping love story, The Hunger Games a riveting thriller that seems like it really could happen, and Harry Potter a magical world we all wish we could have been a part of! Each story leaves you wishing there was more, and that is what makes a great series. (Like The Object seems to be doing so well also)
    I don’t think any story is lesser than the other. Story wise. If you can understand what i mean. The writing and depth is a whole different discussion. Which is where Stephen King would fit in.
    But, a huge series you left out of this poll is The Chronicles of Narnia. This series i grew up reading. And each book i loved dearly. It is very underrated, because many people had not heard of the series, and they released there first movie, when a Harry Potter movie was also being released. So it got washed away unnoticed.

    • At first I was only going to list Harry Potter, Twilight, and The Hunger Games. I only threw the other two in because I knew some people would just vote “They all suck” and wanted to give them more options. I wish I could insert a poll where people could check off the books they’ve read and insert books that aren’t on the list. Sadly, WordPress isn’t that advanced. Haha.

  4. Flashman – George MacDonald Fraser

    Only knock is the racist and misogynist commentary but they do suit the character

  5. Although, I love most of the books on the list I had to cast my vote for the Hunger Games. I like the Dystopian genre and it’s a serious that truly makes you think.

  6. Of the series’ you have here, Chad, I’ve read only one: LOTR (& The Hobbit). Although it’s not my favourite series, it did open me up to reading ‘for fun’ at a young age, To be honest, I had no idea The Hunger Games was even a novel, let alone a series 🙂 Yes, I apparently live under a rock.

    My favourite series is The Wheel of Time (fantasy), by Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson.

    • Of the books on the list, I’ve only read the first Hunger Games book and the Dark Tower series. I plan to read them all as market research.

      Have you read Piers Anthony’s Incarnations of Immortality series? Pretty neat. Each is about a human who is given the role of Death, Time, etc. In the first one, On a Pale Horse, a guy accidentally kills Death when Death comes to kill him, and consequently has to take Death’s job.

      • I read a Piers Anthony Trilogy called Battle Circle. It took me about twenty years and the Internet and piracy to do it. It was out of print and I’d only read the first one physically, Neq the Sword, and there was no finding the other two until I got online and started digging around. It was a fantasy series set in a post apocalyptic world where people had developed a tribal society that was maintained by a benign class of more intellectual types called ‘The Crazies’ by the warriors. The Crazies did it because they believed that the tribal warrior culture, with it’s strict codes of honour, would be the best basis of a regeneration of society.

        I think I’ve just made it sound pretty dull. But as it’s out of print and piracy isn’t the happy hoo-ha it once was, you’ll have to take my word for it anyway. It was good.

  7. I want to start off saying, I really like Harry potter and the Lord of the rings, too. Twilight is my favorite above all for common reasons. One being, I’ve been to Forks, WA. It’s a place that is real and small and beautiful just like you’d imagine. Another is, as the usual outcast among my family, friends..peers, people i have worked with..its nice to see the main charactersbeing total weirdos. I love the hopelessness of the plot and how Bella and Edward would do anything for each other. I love that they express love as something greater than anything else in the world. I love how the books and the movies can make you cry. It makes you go, one day, I might have a love that strong. It’s nice. But it isn’t all nice, got vampires getting killed, wolves hating the cullens, Jacob turning into the hateful douche out of jealousy. Nice twists In there.

    • I’ve only seen the movies, but I agree Jacob is a douche. Haha.

      My vote is for the Dark Tower series. For depth of plot, innovative landscapes, characterization, and the capacity to draw me into its world. Though I did find parts of the last three books unsatisfactory. I think Stephen King was afraid he would die before finishing them and rushed to do so.

  8. I have to go with The Dark Tower series. Stephen King is the master and his talent is far and above the others listed here. Lord of the Rings, though not my cup of tea, is an epic tale and I give it due respect. I just started The Hunger Games and so far, so good. As far as the Potter guy and the whiny vampire teens, I can’t see what all the hoopla is about. Never did, never will. By the way, this Emerson guy is a great writer. I hope he does a book series someday. As far as that book called “other”, I’ve never read it.

Leave a Reply

