The Intergalactic Nemesis, an Inspiring Night for The Object


I’ve just returned from the live-action graphic novel, The Intergalactic Nemesis, staged at the Southern Kentucky Performing Arts Center in Bowling Green, Kentucky.  A surprisingly delightful evening, as it turns out, and it’s inspired our illustrator Justin and I enough that we’re still sitting here drinking beer and discussing the future of The Object.  Justin has even sketched out a possible future illustration.

The Object, sketch of squid creature in Louisville, Kentucky by artist justin comley

Squid creature chillin’ in Louisville

I had never heard of The Intergalactic Nemesis prior to two days ago, when my wife, Kylie, entered us in a Facebook contest hosted by Young Mary’s Record.  (I’ll be blogging about Mary soon.  In the meantime, check out her site.)

My wife texted me at work this morning to let me know we’d won the tickets, and, having had a conversation with Justin recently in which he expressed his interest in writing a graphic novel, I invited him along.

the intergalactic nemesis at skypac in bowling green kentucky

The Intergalactic Nemesis at Skypac in Bowling Green, Kentucky

If you don’t know what a live-action graphic novel is, I strongly suggest you check out The Intergalactic Nemesis.  With each illustrated frame projected on a large screen, three actors perform the dialogue while a sound effect artist and a brilliant pianist generate live sound.  The result is like a mix between reading a book and watching a movie.  Stunning, entertaining, and downright different.  When I woke up this morning I had no idea I’d finish out the day in such a strange, unique, and fun way.

Watch a scene from The Intergalactic Nemesis with Conan O’Brian.

Justin and I were able to talk with the writer and cast of the show and were amazed to learn that their story is quite similar to that of The Object: the idea was conceived and fleshed out randomly at a coffee shop.

If these guys are coming to your town, I recommend you grab some tickets.  And bring your children.  I had about five kids sitting directly behind me and before the show started I was certain they would be chattering away all evening.  None of them made a peep.   They were utterly enthralled.

Winston and Justin

Leave a Reply

